Calico Jack – New Deal

Underground Symphony is proud to announce the signing of Calico Jack, Pirate Metal band from Italy, for the release of their debut full-lenght CD titled “Calico Jack”, available from 18 January 2019 in digipak format and in all the digital stores.

“Yes, I do heartily repent. I repent I had not done more mischief; and that we did not cut the throats of them that took us, and I am extremely sorry that you aren’t hanged as well as we.”
— Anonymous pirate, asked on the gallows if he repented.

In the seventeenth century, the Caribbean seas were infested with the worst scum humanity had ever produced, an absolute threat to be foiled and eradicated. But some might say that the pirates were nothing but free men, who had managed to escape from the shackles of authority and just exercised their right to sail free all over the world, in search of legendary treasures and unknown islands.
The crew known as Calico Jack, with their self-titled debut, want to pay homage to these mythical figures and to this era that entered the imagination worldwide, with a series of tracks combining the primordial power of metal, fierce, fast and aggressive as a buccaneer crew ready for boarding, with the dreamy melodies of Celtic folk, played in the album by fiddler Laura Brancorsini (Furor Gallico), that could be heard on board those same galleons.
Among stories of blood and revenge (“Sharkbite Johnny”), alcoholic and reveler hymns (“Grog Jolly Grog”), obscure sea legends (“The Secret of Cape Cod”) and an epic 18-minute suite dedicated to the story of Calico Jack, the album wants to bring the listener into the Golden Age of Piracy, making it walking the plank with a cutlass pointed at his back.
The postproduction by Mattia Stancioiu (Labyrinth, Crown of Autumn) and the cover art by Seldon Hunt (Neurosis, Nachtmystium) are the last touches that wrap this coffer full of doubloons and rough precious stones.


The Secret of Cape Cod 06:37
Where Hath th’ Rum Gone? 04:27
Death beneath the Wave 04:46
Devil May Care 04:07
Caraibica 05:17
Songs from the Sea 05:22
Sharkbite Johnny 04:45
Grog Jolly Grog 05:15
Straits of Chaos 04:29
Under the Flag of Calico Jack 18:00
Jolie Rouge 06:23

Comments are closed